stories

Crafters’ stories – Joyce

One of the best things about volunteering for Cwtch of Comfort has to be the fabulous people from all over the UK (and further afield) who have made blankets and squares.

Liz, one of our earlier Crafter’s Stories contributors (of whom we’ll be hearing more shortly, as the blankets are mostly done now) did a fabulous job of promoting Cwtch of Comfort in one of the Ravelry groups she’s a member of – SIBOL. Joyce is one of the lovely ladies who stepped up to the mark from that request for help – here is her story:

Hello. Nice to see you. Who are you and where do you come from?
Hi, I’m Joyce and I live in East Grinstead, Sussex. I was born and raised in DSCF2277Sale, Cheshire (although now it’s part of Greater Manchester!), and I moved South with my job when I was in my mid 20s. Thirty years later, I have not one regret of making the move!

What’s your crafting story?
My mum taught me to knit when I was a child (6 or so I guess) – I remember her as always having knitting needles in her hands. She never crocheted though, so I asked my cousin to teach me when I was about 15 (having failed miserably trying to learn from a book (a long time before the days of videos on the internet of course!)). In the early days it was crochet doilies for mum and sweaters for myself – maybe I shouldn’t remember the fun 80s “picture knits” I made, but I loved them!

I lost interest in yarny crafts, and I moved to cross stitching around 1985 after a holiday in the US when I was fascinated by the variety of kits available. I enjoyed stitching for many years, Then I found card making. Cards take a lot less time to make than a sweater or a cross stitch picture! Somewhere in there I also took up patchwork!

IMGP0006Around 2007 I heard of people knitting and crocheting for charity, and that sparked my interest, I could use my “talents” to help others – fabulous! There are only so many sweaters, blankets, pictures etc you need for yourself and family and friends after all.

I still dabble in all sorts including patchwork and card making, but mainly I now knit and crochet for charity.

What’s your Cwtch of Comfort story?
DSCF3242One of the main groups I support is SIBOL (Sunshine International Blankets of Love) and it was through their Ravelry Group that I heard of Cwtch of Comfort, when Liz on behalf of Cwtch asked for blankets for the bereavement boxes in April 2015. Although I’ve never lost a baby/child, my mum suffered miscarriages and a still born, before I came along, meaning there is a 12 year gap between me and my only (older) sibling, and my cousin lost one of her twin girls to a cot death. I can’t begin to know what it feels like, but if I help bring a tiny piece of comfort to anyone I am glad to.

What’s next?
DSCF1849I’m currently finishing a blanket for me! Then it’s it’s back to creating blankets (and the occasional hat, sock, and baby sweater!) for charity. There are so many wonderful free patterns on Ravelry I’ll never run out of ideas and projects – I’m signing up to a couple of CALs (crochet-a-long) in August for starters! I just need more hours in the day! I would be happy to make more blankets for Cwtch – keep your eye on the mailbox!

I will, thanks Joyce!

It’s a real privilege to be able to work with such fantastically altruistic people – being involved with Cwtch of Comfort has helped me to see the good in people. Thank you to everybody who has made blankets, squares, donations – anything!

Leave a Reply

