blanket · knit · stories

Crafters’ stories – Carolyn

Carolyn is one of our early supporters of Cwtch of Comfort – from pre-blog days. She and her colleagues of the WNO Chorus have made many blankets for Cwtch of Comfort, and I hope she and they continue to do so! This is Carolyn’s crafter’s story.

Hello. Who are you and where do you come from?

My Name is Carolyn Evans and I’m originally from Manchester. I moved to Cardiff in 2000 and now live in Pontyclun with my husband and two young sons.
Tell me your crafting story.
Welsh National Opera ChorusI sing with the Welsh National Opera chorus which is where I first started to knit. We are always looking for ways to pass the time whilst not being used in rehearsals. A number of the ladies in the chorus knit and asked me if I would be able to knit some chicks for Easter to raise money for Breakthrough Breast Cancer.I started off rather tentatively but now I’m hooked! I went on to knit scarves for Christmas presents and then progressed (with a lot of help!) to knitting jumpers for myself and the boys. I’m now on my third pair of socks!!
What’s your Cwtch of Comfort Story?
blankets donated to Cwtch of Comfort by Carolyn Evans - thank you.Having done a few chicks and a couple of Christmas puds for my friends charity, I saw Rhian’s story on a Facebook page and decided to enlist the help of the ladies in the chorus to make blankets for Cwtch of Comfort. They were all extremely willing to help and whipped them up in no time.
It’s such a lovely pastime and I feel I’ve achieved something when I can hold up my creation at the end of a rehearsal period!
Thank you so much for talking to us, Carolyn – thank you for making the blankets. Please also thank your colleagues in the WNO.
Leave a Reply

