blanket · craft · crochet · cwtch · knit · stories

Crafter’s Stories – Christine of Yarn n Yarns in Penarth

Yarn n Yarns is my wonderful local yarn shop where I live in Penarth. When we started Cwtch of Comfort last year, Christine was not only happy to get involved as a drop-off point, she was also already involved in supporting people at the Tuesday night knit group who had decided to make blankets. This is her story.

Hello. Nice to see you. Who are you and where do you come from?

2013-09-06-16-32-24My name is Christine Richardson, sometimes called Christine Thompson. I was brought up in Sunderland in the North-East of England, and have been an opera singer the whole of my working life, so nearly 40 years of singing under the name of Christine Thompson, so lots of people know me as that name. Christine Richardson is my married name, and the name I use for the shop, which is something I have taken on since I retired from singing.

 

My Nana taught me to knit when I was very small, and then we all learnt at school. I was 6 when I started to knit, and it’s been a passion of mine ever since.

Tell me more about the shop.

I took the shop on a year last November, just because I love wool and my friend Sarah, a fellow singer, with whom I was singing in an opera asked me if I fancied taking on a wool shop, so I thought: “Why not?” – and now I sit here and knit all day, which is very nice! Knitting is a passion of mine, which I can now do in my own time – it’s just lovely to be sitting amongst all of this nice wool.christine

I was really pleased that we won the award last year [Yarn n Yarns was named Best Local Independent Yarn Store in Wales for 2014 in the British Knitting Awards] – it was nice to win in my first year, so hopefully we can win it again this year!

What sort of classes do you do?

We have knitting classes, crochet classes and a mixed craft group, and we have six separate classes running each week.

Thank you very much for giving your support to Cwtch of Comfort. It’s very much appreciated.

Everyone likes to make [the blankets]. They know that the blankets they make are going to a worthwhile cause. One lady I know, a friend of mine in the opera, one of her friends lost a baby very suddenly, so she wants to give back to almost say thank you for the support she received.

Thank for for talking to me, and thank you for all of the support you give to Cwtch of Comfort.

Leave a Reply

