craft · cwtch · quilt

5 great free patchwork quilt patterns

I wasn’t going to write this post: I was just going to write about quilt blocks … then when I was writing the quilt blocks post, I came across all of these fabulous patterns for the whole quilt, not just the block! It’s been a long time since I did any patchwork and quilting and I’m almost glad that some of these weren’t out there when I was as I would have been even more obsessed than I was in the first place!

So here’s another patchwork post: all the photos are also linked to the relevant project, just to make life a little easier for you!

Magic nine-patch quilt1. Magic Nine-patch quilt – this quilt uses a jelly roll sewn together and then cut up into interesting motifs. This is a really lovely way to use a jelly roll.

2. Boxing day quiltBoxing Day Jelly Roll Quilt – another quilt showing the ingenious uses a jelly roll can be put to. It also needs extra fabric as this is a slightly larger quilt, but is still really easy to piece on the machine.

Play Time Quilt3. Play Time – another simple pattern, this time using strip piecing, this link takes you to a page from where you can download the pdf file which has really clear cutting instructions and easy-to-follow diagrams.

4. Fat quart fizzFat Quarter Fizz – I love a good fat quart quilt, and this uses 20 of them to make a full-sized quilt – you can scale this down if needed and the principles remain exactly the same. The link for this one takes you directly to the pdf file.

Frameworks5. Frameworks – this is my favourite of them all (you may see me heading to my local fabric shop for a jelly roll and some extras!) – it uses a jelly roll with a twist. Again, the link takes you directly to the pdf file for you to download it.

That’s all for now … there will be more in the coming weeks!

For information on fabric requirements for making your quilt, please look at this page – as long as the fabrics are white or gentle pastels, they’ll be fantastic for Cwtch of Comfort … I’m heading off to the fabric shop now …

 

Leave a Reply

